Home    Journal    Boat    Crew    Articles    Links    Contact    Site Map

The Larnach Castle Photo Gallery

Written by Cathy Siegismund
October 2002


Larnach Castle, New Zealand's only Castle, was built in 1871 by William Larnach, Merchant Baron and Politician. The Larnach family resided in the castle after its completion until William Larnach's suicide in 1898. After that, the castle was sold. For 67 years, the castle had many uses including a mental asylum, a hospital for shell-shocked soldiers, a nuns retreat and the Ballroom was once used as a sheep pen. In 1967, the Barker family, bought the castle, which at the time was in a horrible state of disrepair. After a phenomenal renovation of the castle and surrounding grounds, the castle is now a Dunedin landmark and tourist attraction.

Larnach Castle

The gardens that surround the castle are immaculate, and include sculptures, topiary, and fantastic views of the surrounding Otago Peninsula and bay.

    

Larnach's surrounding gardens

The castle gardens have several stone sculptures, from guarding lions to whimsical characters from Alice in Wonderland

    

Sculptures vary from a guarding lion to the Cheshire Cat

A small sailboat race in the protected waters of Dunedin's bay

    

Breathtaking views from the castle grounds

Cath, Dorothy and Peggy at the front doors to the castle

Photos were not allowed inside the castle, but it has been beautifully renovated with antiques, many originals from the Larnach family. The woodwork throughout the castle in native New Zealand timbers is amazing. From the second floor, you can climb  up a narrow circular stone staircase to the roof, which offers even more spectacular views of the gardens and surrounding scenery.

Ken climbing the small spiral staircase

    

Views of the gardens and entrance to the bay over the castle chimneys and tree tops

    

Ken and Cath in the castle gardens

Copyright 1999-2003. All Rights Reserved.